Evening and Weekend Appointments Available
Payment Plans Available, Credit Cards Accepted | Se Habla Español 562.268.5522
Arrested for a DUI?

Downey DUI Lawyer

Aggressive DUI Defense for California Residents

Have you been arrested for driving under the influence? Whether or not you have any prior convictions on your record, you may be concerned about your future and wondering who to turn to. At the Law Office of Ronald M. Hall, we have been fighting for the rights of our clients for more than 40 years. With extensive experience behind us, we understand exactly how serious DUI charges can be and how they can affect your life.

Our Downey DUI attorney is prepared to protect your future and your freedom. Call (562) 268-5522 for a FREE consultation.

Understanding DUI Penalties in California

Our firm handles a wide range of DUI cases, including first time DUI, second time DUI, multiple DUI, underage DUI, and DUI with accident or involving injuries. We are fully aware of the type of serious penalties that a conviction of DUI can bring, which is why we commit ourselves to fighting convictions.

If you choose our firm to represent you, you can trust our highly experienced Downey DUI lawyer to provide you with quality representation and the compassion you need on your side. These penalties get steeper for subsequent offenses, which is why it is very important that you have a dedicated Downey DUI attorney on your side. We can represent you through your DMV hearings.

Depending on the type of charge, a DUI conviction can be punished in the following ways:

  • Probation
  • License suspension
  • Drug/alcohol treatment
  • Community service
  • Fine
  • Imprisonment

License Suspension Risks After a DUI

While driving under the influence charges are taken very seriously in the State of California, the penalties you can face depend on the exact circumstances of your arrest.

If you are facing your first DUI, or misdemeanor conviction, you face large fines and penalties:

  • Up to 48 hours in jail
  • A 90-day restricted license that allows to drive only to and from work
  • Mandatory alcohol treatment
  • Loss of license for up to 30 days

California's Implied Consent Law

Under California’s implied consent law, all drivers have agreed to submit to a breath or blood test if suspected of driving under the influence. If you refuse to take the test, your driver’s license could be suspended for one to three years, depending on if you have had prior offenses.

Reducing DUI Charges 

One strategy to fight your DUI charge is to seek a plea bargain to have it reduced. The lesser charge for driving under the influence, known as “wet reckless,” is when a DUI charge is reduced to reckless driving.

If you are convicted of a “wet reckless” charge, you can face from $145 to $1,000 in fines and/or up to 90 days in jail. You may also be required to complete an alcohol and drug awareness program.

Protect Your Driving Privileges

If you are charged with a DUI, you will likely be called to go to a DMV hearing to state your case and find out if your license will be revoked or suspended. It is important to have competent legal counsel to represent you during these hearings to have a better chance of keeping your license. Our Downey DUI lawyer can explain what to expect in your upcoming hearing during your initial expectation.

Contact Our Downey DUI Attorney Today

Please reach out to our firm today to find out what our skilled Downey DUI attorney can do for you and your case. We would like to offer you a free initial consultation to give you the opportunity to discuss your individual situation and learn about your options. You need exceptional legal guidance on your side and that is exactly what our firm provides.

Commonly Asked Questions

Can I refuse a breathalyzer or blood test if I'm pulled over for a DUI?

Under California’s implied consent law, all drivers have agreed to submit to a breath or blood test if suspected of driving under the influence. Refusing to take the test can result in the suspension of your driver’s license for one to three years, depending on whether you have prior offenses.

Can a DUI charge be expunged from my record?

In California, it is possible to have a DUI conviction expunged from your record under certain conditions. You must have completed all sentencing requirements, including probation, and not have any new criminal charges. An experienced attorney can help you determine your eligibility for expungement and guide you through the process.

If You Are Facing Criminal Charges, Don't Hesitate.

  • Free Consultation

    We offer free consultations, in person, and over the phone for your convenience after an arrest.

  • Connections

    We work hand in hand with our personal investigators and retired detectives, for the best results with your case.

  • Payment Plans

    We offer flexible payment plans, credit cards accepted, to help you get the defense you deserve, without the extra stress.

  • Se Hable Español

    Our lawyer can help, in English or Spanish, whichever you are more comfortable with.